I pray in poems: Meditations on Poetry and Faith

The Heron Rises.

Good morning and Happy Advent!  I write this morning to announce that the title of my forthcoming book has been slightly modified to:

I pray in poems: Meditations on Poetry and Faith.

I love this new title, and I’m getting really excited as the production process had begun to pick up steam!

In the meantime, several folks have asked me to share some background on how I generated the idea for the book, and so I offer the following excerpt from the first draft of the Foreword: 

“In Fall 2013, some good folks at my parish, the Church of the Holy Family in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, invited me to give a couple of talks about poetry with themes appropriate for Advent. So I chose some poems, wrote up discussion topics for each, and distributed all the material to the participants in advance. We gathered on the appointed Sundays…

View original post 487 more words

Leave a Reply

