Like Lawrence, I Am Waiting, poem by Alessandra Bava (I Am Waiting Poetry Series)

Silver Birch Press

layla_blackshear
LIKE LAWRENCE, I AM WAITING
by Alessandra Bava

I am waiting for the People to tear down all the walls,
to stop all the wars, to reject violence, to end abuse,
to cancel hate.

I am waiting for the World to become a better place,
a taintless place, a fairer place, where money is not
for the greedy but for the needy.

I am waiting for Solidarity to rule, for the rich to feed the poor,
for the homeless to find a roof to their shattered hopes, for
everyone to be more ready to give rather than to take.

I am waiting for Nature to be loved rather than raped in the name
of profits. For deserts to bloom, for glaciers to stand fast &
ecosystems to be left unspoiled by speculators.

I am waiting for Poets to be vigilant seers, to be beacons in seas
of despair, to write…

View original post 240 more words

Leave a Reply

